Section navigation

Best Interest Assessors Module

Module codeSWK4440
Level7
Credits30
Fees£1,550
Start datesSeptember 2017
November 2017
May 2018 

Overview

Best Interest Assessor is an inter-professional module which aims to equip experienced practitioners in health and social care with the skills and knowledge required to enable them to undertake a Best Interest Assessment (BIA). A BIA is a specific task related to implementing the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards and on completion of the module and successful assessment, participants will be eligible to apply for approval to their Supervisory Board as a Best Interest Assessor having met in full the training requirements specified by the Department of Health. This is a one week intensive course.

Course content

The syllabus is laid down in the requirements of the five professional capabilities for Best Interest Assessors (DoH) which are embedded within a series of 6 one day workshops and practice learning opportunities

Teaching dates

Cohort one
  • Monday 11 September 2017
  • Tuesday 12 September 2017
  • Wednesday 13 September 2017
  • Thursday 14 September 2017
  • Friday 15 September 2017
  • Friday 27 October 2017
Cohort two
  • Monday 27 November 2017
  • Tuesday 28 November 2017
  • Wednesday 29 November 2017
  • Thursday 30 November 2017
  • Friday 1 December 2017
  • Friday 26 January 2018
Cohort three
  • Monday 7 May 2018
  • Tuesday 8 May 2018
  • Wednesday 9 May 2018
  • Thursday 10 May 2018
  • Friday 11 May 2018

How to apply

To apply for this course you must :

  • have two years post-registration experience as either an approved mental health professional or social worker registered with the Health and Care Professions Council
  • be a first level nurse registered in Part 1 of the Register, occupational therapists registered in Part 6 of the Register and chartered psychologists listed in BPS

Please email our CPD Social Work Administration team to express an interest in this programme.

In this section

Back to top

We use Cookies

View our Privacy and Cookie policy

Continue