Interprofessional Learning Symposia

The Symposia programme

Within the School of Health and Education we believe that gaining an understanding into other professional roles and skills in a shared learning context can benefit inter-professional team-working in practice.

We have students studying health, nursing, social work, midwifery, teacher training, allied health care, and integrative medicine courses and our weekly Interprofessional Learning Symposia programme can provide a rich and deeper understanding of what different professionals have to offer within their respective sectors.

This dynamic series is now in its fourth year and it offers students and staff from across the disciplines studying within our school, as well as our external partners from practice (clinicians, social care staff, educators) an inter-professional learning opportunity.

Each session runs for an hour and a half at the end of the formal teaching day, starting at 4.00pm and participants come together to discuss, debate and update personal learning led by a key subject expert, on a range of relevant, often challenging themes.

The event learning materials and slides from each session are posted within the dedicated IPL section within MyLearning/my courses.

Sessions are advertised on Eventbrite and advanced booking is one month from the date of the event. Nursing and Midwifery students attending sessions will be able to log their participation as part of the mandatory IPL learning – please see your Programme Lead for details.

The programme of afternoon sessions presents a range of key topics representative of the health, social and educational subjects being taught, with invited experts both from within and outside of the university.

The full programme is outlined below with 100 places available for each session. Please also note that there may be changes to this timetable.

Book your place on Eventbrite

The sessions

  • Open to all students and staff, running between October and June
  • Offered late afternoon, on a weekly basis rotating between Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4.00pm to 5.30pm to allow students to complete daytime lectures
  • Recorded with pre and self-directed learning materials uploaded to Moodle
  • Popular topics can be scheduled more than once, subject to demand
  • Available with certificates of attendance to assist with personal development portfolios linked with the online evaluation feedback sheets.

If you have any questions, please email Alfonso Pezzella.

IPL Symposia Timetable

DateTopicAcademic leadRoom
Wednesday 2 October 2019Working inter-professionallyMary ClarkC211
Tuesday 8 October 2019Mental Health Assessment Ruairi Mulhern
Lawrence Dadzie  
HG19
Wednesday 16 October 2019Culturally competent and compassionate careIrena Papadopoulous
Alfonso Pezzella  
C211
Tuesday 22 October 2019Communication and disability  HG19
Thursday 24 October 2019Suicide prevention Adrian JugdoyalCG76
Wednesday 30 October 2019Drug and Alcohol I: Awareness Carmel ClancyC211
Tuesday 5 November 2019Drug and Alcohol II: Assessment Carmel ClancyHG19
Wednesday 13 November 2019An evidence-based introduction to adult ADHDPoppy Ellis Logan C211
Tuesday 19 November 2019Understanding the Past, Present and Future: An Introduction to the Political Economy of UK HealthcareTim EvansHG19
Wednesday 27 November 2019Child protection and safeguardingLucille Allain
Sioban O'Farrell-Pearce
C211
Tuesday 3 December 2019Culturally competent and compassionate leadership

Irena Papadopoulos

HG19
Tuesday 14 January 2020Children’s mental healthCarolyn PerrimanHG19
Wednesday 22 January 2020Domestic abuseSarah Lewis-Brooke and Social Work ColleaguesC211
Tuesday 28 January 2020Working with service users across different gender identities and sexualitiesAlfonso PezzellaHG19
Wednesday 5 February 2020Mental Health AssessmentRuairi Mulhern
Lawrence Dadzie
C211
Thursday 6 February 2020Supporting service users across different gender identitiesAlfonso PezzellaCG76
Tuesday 11 February 2020

Deaf awareness

Meghan LutonHG19
Wednesday 19 February 2020

Suicide prevention and cultural diversity

Erminia ColucciC211
Tuesday 25 February 2020Female Genital Mutilation (FGM)Su Everett
Theresa Bourne
Lindsey Ahmet
HG19
Wednesday 4 March 2020Modern Day Slavery Monica Tymanowska
Gemma Change for MET Police 
C211
Tuesday 10 March 2020Therapeutic use of animalsJenny PhillipsHG19
Wednesday 18 March 2020Introduction to Children and Adolescents Mental Health Services (CAMHS)Helen KehoeC211
Tuesday 24 March 2020Communication I: Activism, professionalism and finding your voiceNicky LambertHG19
Tuesday 7 April 2020Communication II: Digital professionalism in health and social careSuzanne Traynor and MyCareAcademyHG19
Wednesday 8 April 2020Working with resistive behaviours (including principles/techniques of Motivational Interviewing)Carmel ClancyC211
Wednesday 15 April 2020Forensic mental healthLawrence DadzieC211
Tuesday 21 April 2020Inclusive aged careTrish Hafford-LetchfieldHG19
Wednesday 29 April 2020Principles of care planning: The foundation of effective nursing practiceMarion Hinds
Georgina Cox
C211
Thursday 30 April 2020Animal therapyJenny PhillipsCG76
Wednesday 6 May 2020Maternal mental healthLaura FoleyC211
Tuesday 12 May 2020Mental health first aidRuairi MulhernHG19
Wednesday 27 May 2020Improving physical health needs in mental illnessHerbert MwebeC211
Tuesday 2 June 2020Drug and Alcohol I: AwarenessCarmel ClancyHG19
Wednesday 10 June 2020Drug and Alcohol II: AssessmentCarmel ClancyC211
Tuesday 16 June 2020Communication III: Managing difficult conversations with service users (including breaking bad news)Nicky LambertHG19
Wednesday 24 June 2020Leading peopleMary SextonC211

In this section

Back to top