Logo close icon

Modules and credits

A brief guide to our terminology:


A programme (or longer course) is an approved combination of a number of modules that leads to a specific qualification, for example an Advanced Diploma, BSc Honours Degree, a Postgraduate Certificate or Diploma, or a Masters degree. All programmes are made up of modules.


Modules are usually 30 credits, although some are 15 or 60, available at Levels One to Seven. An undergraduate degree is 360 credits, whereas a Masters degree is 180 credits. A Postgraduate Certificate or Advanced Diploma is 60 credits. If you are following a degree programme, you may be able to choose some modules from our wide range. Modules can be taken as stand alone courses or form part of a programme. For some longer courses, such as BSc Nursing Studies, you may be awarded credit for previous study (APL, or Accreditation of Prior Learning) which reduces the total number of credits you will need to study.

Study Days

Study days do not generally carry credits but are used to inform practitioners about practice and policy updates.


Most of our courses are at Level 6 or 7, using the new Framework for Higher Education Qualifications (FHEQ) in England. Level 6 modules are typically undergraduate level (for example, modules offered as part of an Advanced Diploma), while Level 7 modules are typically postgraduate level (for example, modules offered as part of a Postgraduate Certificate or Masters degree). If you already have a degree, it would be most appropriate to study Level 7 modules, where that option is available.

For advice regarding any of our courses or to talk to us about how CPD could benefit you in your job and your career, please contact us.

In this section

Back to top