Logo close icon

Centre for Critical Research in Nursing and Midwifery

The Centre for Critical Research in Nursing and Midwifery (CCRNM) draws together researchers in nursing and midwifery within the School of Health and Education.

We define 'critical' as research approaches that challenge accepted norms, with the goal of exposing structures of power and domination.  Our research seeks to understand, uncover, illuminate and transform nursing and midwifery practice.

Our mission

The Centre's mission is to become a prominent centre for influencing nursing and midwifery practice within today's NHS environment and beyond.

Our aims are to facilitate, co-ordinate and conduct high quality critical research in partnership with academic colleagues, healthcare providers, commissioners and other centres of excellence.

Key research themes

  • Women's reproductive health
  • Patient experience of assisted reproductive technologies and early parenting after IVF
  • Clinical practice (pressure ulcer care)
  • Critical nursing policy
  • Evaluation
  • Nursing and Midwifery education
  • The Nursing, Midwifery and Healthcare Workforce
  • Nurse migration

Doctoral study

We provide a supportive and creative environment for doctoral research and welcomes applications for PhD and the Doctorate in Professional Studies (DProf) programmes.

We also supervise a range of part time and full time UK and international doctoral students

While we particularly welcome applications within the Centre's research themes, we will consider a wide range of doctoral projects within nursing and midwifery.

Collaborative working

Our researchers have well-established relationships with many London NHS Trusts, Health Education England, North Central London CCG, NHSE, Capital Nurse and other health and social care organisations and voluntary groups.

We have worked closely on collaborative research projects with international partners including Health and Social Services Department (HSSD) Guernsey; Flinders University, Adelaide, Australia; Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand; University of Barcelona, Spain and the University of Southern Denmark.

Completed projects

‘Healthcare assistants’ knowledge, attitudes and experiences of preventing pressure ulcers: a mixed method study’ has now been completed.

The project was funded in March 2020, and was completed in July 2021. Final report sent to the Funder in October 2021.

In this section

Back to top