Logo close icon
Studying with us during coronavirus in 2021

Practice Education: Stage 1 module

Module code SWK4011
Level 7
Credits 30
Fees £840 (A limited number of fee-waivered places available if a MDX student is taken on a 100-day placement)
Start date September 2021
February 2022

Overview

This module allows registered social workers with at least 2 years post-qualifying experience to gain a greater understanding of some of the main areas involved in supervising, teaching, mentoring, coaching and assessing social work students. Successful completion of this module allows learners to progress onto the Practice Education Stage 2 module. Applicants should have prior experience of working either with a NQSW or a student social worker (perhaps as an on-site supervisor).

Course content

You will develop a greater understanding, through theory and practice of adult learning, supervision models and the practical aspects of being a practice educator, e.g. conducting observations.

Module content includes:

  • The induction, mentoring and formal supervision of pre-qualifying social work students
  • Conducting direct observations
  • Pre-qualifying social work practice requirements and the related knowledge and values within the workplace in relation to PCF, PEPS and KSS
  • Working with students who have learning needs

Teaching dates

September cohort:

  • Friday 10 September 2021
  • Friday 17 September 2021
  • Friday 15 October 2021
  • Friday 29 October 2021
  • Friday 26 November 2021

Teaching will be delivered online via Zoom.

March cohort:

  • Friday 1 April 2022
  • Friday 8 April 2022
  • Friday 29 April 2022
  • Friday 20 May 2022
  • Friday 10 June 2022
  • Friday 24 June 2022

How to apply

Please email our CPD Social Work Administration team to express an interest in this module.

To be eligible to apply, you must have some prior experience of either working with a student social worker (conducting observations or acting as a practice supervisor for example) and/or have experience of working with a social worker in their ASYE.

In this section

Back to top