Practice Education: Stage 2 module

Module code SWK4421
Level 7
Credits 30
Fees £840 (may be reduced if student is on placement)
Start date January 2020
July 2020

Overview

This module includes an overview of the main areas involved in supervising, teaching, mentoring, coaching and assessing social work students studying qualifying social work programmes. This module focuses on achieving the Practice Educator Professional Standards.

Course content

This module evolves around assessment-based learning in particular areas of specialist practice, including:

  • monitoring and supporting the work of others
  • Direct observation of professional practice
  • Feedback as an aid to learning
  • Principles of formative and summative assessment of others
  • Adult learning theory

Teaching dates

January cohort

  • Tuesday 7 January 2020
  • Friday 7 February 2020
  • Monday 2 March 2020
  • Friday 20 March 2020
  • Friday 24 April 2020

July cohort

  • Friday 17 July 2020
  • Monday 3 August 2020
  • Wednesday 26 August 2020
  • Friday 11 September 2020
  • Friday 18 September 2020

How to apply

To apply for this module you must have successfully completed the Practice Education: Stage 1 module (SWK 4011).

Please email our CPD Social Work Administration team to express an interest in this module.

Closing dates

  • January cohort - Friday 13 December 2019
  • July cohort - Friday 10 July 2020

In this section

Back to top